The National World War II Memorial: The Living Room of Washington D.C.

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Join Holly Rotondi, executive director of the Friends of the National World War II Memorial, as she shares the stories and people behind the building of the National World War II Memorial, one of the most visited memorials on the National Mall in Washington, D.C. Learn about the 17-year odyssey to create a memorial to honor the 16-million-strong men and women who wore the uniform of the U.S. Armed Forces during World War II and to pay tribute to a generation of Americans and Allies who helped to bring freedom to millions around the globe. Discover how the Memorial that faced strong opposition has now become, in the words of Ambassador Haydn Williams, “Washington’s village square, the town green on the Mall, a place for silent solemn remembrance, for public commemoration and celebration, also a place, to linger, to stroll, to talk, to listen, to share memory and meaning.”

January 18, 2022 – 8 am Hawai‘i / 10 am Pacific / 12 pm Central / 1 pm Eastern

Take a virtual tour of the World War II Memorial.

To learn more about Monitor National Marine Sanctuary, visit https://monitor.noaa.gov

To learn more about the North Carolina Office of State Archaeology, visit https://archaeology.ncdcr.gov/

Register for the Webinar at: https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/7468682740278562319

Comments

Share.

About Author

The Scuba News Press Team are constantly on the hunt for great news articles from the world of scuba diving!

Leave a Reply