Dive Curacao


Scuba Mask Straps

All Along the Waterfront: Archaeological Investigations of Chesapeake Bay Oyster Boats

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Discover how maritime archaeology reveals a new understanding of North Carolina’s historic oyster industry, which remains a significant part of the state’s cultural, environmental, and maritime history. In this webinar, look back at the industry during the 19th and 20th centuries and learn how fishers from northern states changed the industry when they entered North Carolina sounds.

20th February 2024 – 8am Hawaii / 10 am Pacific / 12 pm Central / 1 pm Eastern

Join Patrick Boyle, a doctoral student in the Texas A&M University Nautical Archaeology Program, to gain insight into North Carolina’s historic oyster industry. Learn about the bugeye, a regional type of boat built in Maryland shipyards, and why its construction was perfect for North Carolina waters. Discover the influence of Chesapeake Bay oysterers on the industry, and explore several oyster boat shipwrecks in the region as he talks about his archaeological research. 

Advertisement
Sea to Sky


Register for this FREE Webinar at: https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/4539089001211081820

Comments

Advertisement
La Galigo
Share.

About Author

NOAA is an agency that enriches life through science. Our reach goes from the surface of the sun to the depths of the ocean floor as we work to keep the public informed of the changing environment around them

Leave a Reply

Dive Curacao


Scuba Mask Straps